Tags

, , ,

 

 

As I mentioned in my post at the beginning of July when I visited Granada, my Canadian girlfriend Roxanne (who I first met on a ferry in Sydney Harbour, Australia) was touring Europe for a couple of months – so I couldn´t resist joining up with her for a few days!

I caught the 6am flight from Málaga on Sunday morning, to the capital city of Slovakia.  Bratislava is in south-western Slovakia straddling the banks of the River Danube , and is the only national capital that borders two independent countries – Austria and Hungary.  Formerly part of Czechoslovakia, Bratislava has had a long and colourful history.

We were staying only a fifteen minute walk from  the centre of the old city and I had a great view of Bratislava castle  from my room.

Although I only had twenty-four hours in the city, this small central European gem is possibly the perfect destination for a short visit.   The city of Bratislava is a joy to explore, with the majority of attractions for the traveller situated on the northern side of the Danube.

Spanning the river is the interesting Nový Most (Slovak for “New Bridge“), which was built in the late 1960s.   This unique bridge, complete with the  UFO restaurant soaring above,  is the most famous modern landmark of Bratislava, and provides views across Slovakia and neighbouring Austria.

Imagine our delight when we stumbled across the magnificent blue Church of St. Elisabeth which, understandably,  is very popular for weddings!

We had fun with the quirky bronze statues dotted throughout the city centre.

Bratislava is within easy travelling distance of some of the great European destinations. Vienna is just over an hour by rail, Prague around four, and Budapest a little under three.  All too  soon it was time for us to embark on the next part of our adventure – a trip on the hydrofoil along the River Danube to the Hungarian capital, Budapest.

