Tags

,

I stumbled across this amusing little tune about some of the not-so-cuddly critters to be found here in Australia. 

To be honest, we have only ever met with one pretty big spider in all of our visits to Oz, and it was about two weeks ago.  I was cooking dinner one evening, and Michael and I were chatting.  I had my back to Michael, facing the hob, when all of a sudden, he stopped talking mid-sentence.  I turned around to face him and saw he was looking up towards the ceiling and his jaw had dropped open.  I looked up to see what he was looking at, and – OH MY GOODNESS!

Img_3586

Apparently, this was a Huntsman spider, so named because of its speed and method of hunting – and not particularly venomous to humans!  HA, YOU’RE JOKING, RIGHT?! 

AARRGGGHHHH …….GET IT OUT!

DON’T LET IT GET AWAY ….. KEEP YOUR EYE ON IT!  QUICK – QUICK!

Being so tall (lol), Michael was tasked with wrestling with this beast and turfing him outside, whilst I kept an eye out for his mate (or his mother!).

Needless to say, it was quite a few days before I stopped searching every ceiling, wall and floor in every room – and, as for checking the bedsheets before turning in for the night ….. LOL!

